How to apply

are open and will close in -913 days

Applications for Australia Awards Scholarships commencing in 2022 will close 31 May 2021

Do you want to be a leader in your field and make a difference in Bangladesh? Applications for Australia Awards Scholarships are now open

An Australia Awards Scholarship provides you with the opportunity to gain an internationally recognised qualification from an Australian institution. It includes all the necessary support and funding to complete your study.

Your career will benefit from new knowledge, leadership skills and the links you create both in Australia and through the Australia Global Alumni network. On your return home, you can make a vital contribution to the social and economic development of Bangladesh.

The application process is transparent and competitive, providing equal opportunity to all eligible applicants, regardless of gender, ethnicity or disability.

Applications for Australia Awards Scholarships commencing in 2022 are now open and will close 31 May 2021.

Apply now for your opportunity to gain world-class education and become an emerging leader for development with strong links to Australia.

To apply:

  • read the supplied documentation and information on this website
  • check your eligibility
  • consider your goals and the development needs of your country
  • research available university courses
  • prepare required supporting documentation
  • submit your application on OASIS.

Important update

Applications for Australia Awards Scholarships now close on 31 May 2021. Any further adjustments to application requirements will be published on this website and on OASIS. Please check both sites regularly for updates.


The application process

Want to learn more about the application process? This video will take you through some crucial steps.

Watch now

The application deadline for Australia Awards Scholarships for study commencing in 2022 has been extended to 31 May 2021.

Any adjustments to application requirements will be published on this website and on OASIS. Please check this website and OASIS regularly for updates.

English Language Requirements.

If you are unable to submit your English language test result due to the non-availability of tests in Bangladesh, you must submit proof that you have registered for the English language test as part of your completed application in OASIS by 31 May 2021.

Once the test centers open, you will be required to undertake English language testing and submit your test result with the applicant’s OASIS ID/Number (e.g. AAS2292472) to

To be eligible for an Australia Awards Scholarship, you must meet certain standards in English language proficiency, with the results valid as at 1 January 2022. At minimum, you must have:

  • an IELTS (Academic) overall score of at least 6.5 with no band less than 6.0; or
  • a TOEFL internet-based test (iBT) score of at least 84, with a minimum of 21 in all sub-tests; or
  • a PTE Academic overall score of 58 with no communicative skill score less than 50.

Women, people with disability and those from ethnic minorities are permitted to submit an overall IELTS score of at least 6.0 with no band less than 5.5 (or equivalent TOEFL or PTE score). However, if selected for the Scholarship, they must meet the English language admission requirement of the relevant Australian institution.

English language testing

The cost of English language testing can be high. Proper preparation considering your individual needs is key to successfully submitting your application.

Please visit the following websites for more details:

People with disability wishing to apply are encouraged to get in touch with English language test centres as early as possible, as the testing facility will need time to make necessary adjustments to meet individual needs.

What are Australia Awards?

Australia Awards are prestigious international Scholarships, Fellowships and Short Courses funded by the Australian Government. Australia Awards equip recipients with the skills and knowledge to drive change and contribute to the economic and social development of their own countries.

All recipients of Australia Awards become part of the Australia Global Alumni network, connecting them to Australia and to each other — building an engaged and influential global network of leaders and advocates, and establishing a network of ambassadors for Australia and its first-class education system.

An important area of focus for Australia Awards is the empowerment of women and the inclusion of people with disability and individuals from disadvantaged social groups.


What are Australia Awards Scholarships?

Australia Awards Scholarships are long-term development awards administered by the Australian Government’s Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade. They aim to contribute to the development needs of Australia’s partner countries in line with bilateral and regional agreements.

They provide opportunities for people from developing countries, particularly those countries located in the Indo-Pacific region, to undertake full-time undergraduate or postgraduate study at participating Australian institutions.

For Bangladesh, Australia Awards Scholarships are offered for Master’s degree study in fields agreed with partner government and aligned with Australia’s development, economic and public diplomacy priorities.

The study and research opportunities provided by Australia Awards Scholarships develop the skills and knowledge of individuals to drive change and contribute to development in their own countries.

For more information about Australia Awards, visit


What benefits are provided?

Australia Awards Scholarships are offered for the minimum period necessary for the individual to complete the academic program specified by the Australian higher education institution, including any preparatory training. Benefits include full tuition fees, return airfares, contribution to living expenses and medical insurance. Please check the Australia Awards Scholarships Policy Handbook for detailed information about Scholarship benefits and entitlements.


Scholarship conditions

Applicants who accept an Australia Awards Scholarship must sign a contract with the Commonwealth of Australia declaring that they will comply with the conditions of the Australia Awards Scholarship. Scholars are required to leave Australia for a minimum of two years after completing their Scholarship.

For further information, contact the Australia Awards office in Bangladesh:
+880 9611 699 934



On 23 April 2021, the application deadline for Australia Awards Scholarships for study commencing in 2022 was extended to 31 May 2021. Adjustments will be made to this website as new information becomes available. Please check this website and OASIS regularly for updates.

Please be wary of false advertising and scams. Only refer to this website’s resources and the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade’s website here for information regarding the application process for Australia Awards Scholarships. No money is paid for an Australia Awards opportunity at any stage of the process.